Book Recommendation

When I decided to go to law school, I went to Barnes & Noble and picked up a book on the subject.  It turned out that there were many.  I probably should have done a little research to discover what was considered the best book on law school, but as my wife will confirm, I am a cheapskate, so I just snagged the most affordable (aka: cheapest) book on the shelf.

Wouldn’t it be nice if a book existed just for the family and friends of law students?  Surprisingly, there is one.  Professor Andrew McClurg from the Cecil C. Humphreys School of Law at the University of Memphis authored a book titled, “The ‘Companion Text’ to Law School: Understanding and Surviving Life with a Law Student.”

I told Professor McClurg about my idea to have a blog for the family and friends of our law students, and he graciously granted permission to use excerpts from his book from time to time.  If you are interested in a thorough book that will be helpful from “your” perspective, then I definitely recommend this book.

Here is a description of the book from the back cover:

“Law school, as you are about to discover, is an adventure for the entire family.  It’s a life-changing experience that affects everyone involved.  The ‘Companion Text’ is designed to equip loved ones of law students – parents, partners, and other friends and relatives – with all the information and tools needed to understand and survive their student’s intrepid journey through the highs, lows, and sometimes crazy world of legal education.”

HERE is a link to the book if you are interested in purchasing it.  Up to you, of course – I will be highlighting parts of the book on this blog here and there.

 

 

NEWS & NOTES:

1. Our faculty, deans, and directors will be at a retreat in Westlake, California, today in anticipation of the new school year!  We are excited!

2. I hope your students enjoy this last day of freedom (although the prison metaphor is a bit much!).  Maybe they will go to the beach or do a little sightseeing – or maybe just relax!  The fun starts tomorrow, and we will keep them rather busy for quite some time.

16 thoughts on “Book Recommendation

  1. Daniel Calmeyer says:

    Thanks for your work on this blog. My wife is about to start, and I’m sure your words will be helpful this coming year.

  2. Denzil and Aloma Ratnasoma says:

    It was great meeting you Monday when we came to drop off our son who is starting law school!! Thank you for the book recommendation!!

  3. Christy says:

    I just finished “One L” by Scott Turow and it was interesting, although it was written 35 years ago. I am anxious to read “The companion text” by McClurg so I can compare and hopefully gain a better understanding. I believe two perspectives will enable me to put it all into focus. Thanks for your recommendation, I’m looking forward to more posts from you 😀

  4. Carolyn and Dan Stromberg says:

    Thank you for the book recommendation! It arrived in the mail and I just started reading it. It already appears to be something I would like the whole family to read. I know it will give us a greater understanding of what our daughter Tracey will be going through along with all the other 1L’s.

    • Al Sturgeon says:

      I am glad the books looks useful to you! I really think you will find it helpful (and interesting). I will share excerpts with everyone from time to time.

      ________________________________

  5. […] 9 of Professor McClurg’s book is titled, “Eight Things to NEVER Say to a Law Student.”  Excellent, excellent advice […]

  6. […] entry from Professor McClurg‘s chapter on “What Law Students Want You To Know” emphasizes the competitive […]

  7. […] entry from Professor McClurg‘s chapter on “What Law Students Want You To Know” emphasizes the unique nature of […]

  8. […] In honor of Presidents Day, a little presidential/lawyer trivia from Professor McClurg’s The Companion Text to Law School: […]

  9. […] and how it affected me.  Today, in anticipation of such reflection, I thought I would reach back to Professor McClurg’s book and share his lists of “the good parts of law school” (Chapter 13) and “student […]

  10. […] Professor Andrew McClurg has written an excellent book for the family and friends of law students and granted me permission to share excerpts with you from time to time.  If you are interested, I would recommend purchasing this book.  Chapter Nine is one of my favorites, and it is titled, “Eight Things to NEVER Say to a Law Student.”  Excellent, excellent advice in that chapter!  (By the way, if you have already said most of them, don’t worry – it happens every year.  Better to get them out of the way earlier rather than later!)  Today, I share these statements with my own super brief synopsis (Professor McClurg’s in-depth descriptions are much better, of course). […]

Leave a Reply

