Graduation Day – and Beyond

Well, the big day is finally here for our graduating students.  Today, there is the mixed bag of Malibu finally receiving much-needed rain and the irony of it arriving on the day that we typically celebrate this great accomplishment under sunny skies overlooking the Pacific Ocean.  So, today, we will be indoors where our graduates, their guests, and their diplomas (!) will be safe, dry, and warm.

It will still be a fantastic day.  I am so proud of the Class of 2015.

On the blog front, I have a big announcement today, too.  Personally, I will be transitioning my blogging from here to a brand new blog that I have created called Starting to Look Up.  It will be an inspirational blog intended for a wide audience, so I hope you will feel comfortable sharing it with any and all of your friends and family.  My original plan is to post a couple of times a week, probably Monday and Friday, so subscribing by email won’t overload your inbox.  My rationale is that everyone can use a reminder to “look up” every now and then. I hope what I do will be useful in that regard.  Please go to Starting to Look Up to subscribe. The subscription widget is at the top of the menu on the right side of the page.

Finally, for those of you worried that regular law school happenings won’t be covered anymore, nothing could be further from the truth.  In fact, our amazing director of communications is working on another place where such things will be new and improved!

So there is good news all around today (well, the rain is mixed good news today!).

Thank you for reading along for these past three years.  I anticipate that the blog moves will make things better and better.  As I will say it, things are starting to look up!!!

4 thoughts on “Graduation Day – and Beyond

  1. Patricia Jean says:

    I wanted to thank you for your faithfulness to this blog. It has helped me tremendously these past 3 years to feel closer, more informed and more a part of our son’s Pepperdine family. It made sharing him with California easier and I am very grateful to you for all that you have done for all the students and their families. I look forward to your new blog as well!
    Being from Texas, we can appreciate a much needed rain but we are all struggling with our disappointment in not being able to have the graduation with the back drop of such spectacular beauty of the Pacific coast. Still, nothing can dampen the pride in our hearts for our son and we look forward to a great day!!!
    May you and yours and Pepperdine be richly blessed!

    • Al Sturgeon says:

      Thank you so much for your kind words. I have been saying repeatedly that my biggest disappointment with the rain is for the families of our graduates! I wish I could control the weather!!! 🙂

      Thank you once again. Please do stay in touch!

  2. Vivian Cid says:

    I just want to take a minute to thank you for the last three years of faithful blogging! It was so helpful and kept us connected to Pepperdine Law School. The Cid Family appreciates it and you! May the Lord shower you, your family and the Pepperdine family with His blessings! I am looking forward to your new blog!
    Yesterday was perfect! Gray skies and a little rain was just the morning backdrop in a sea of bright young lives.

Leave a comment